[PATCH v4 15/17] x86/traps: Fixup general protection faults caused by UMIP

From: Ricardo Neri
Date: Thu Feb 23 2017 - 01:41:11 EST

If the User-Mode Instruction Prevention CPU feature is available and
enabled, a general protection fault will be issued if the instructions
sgdt, sldt, sidt, str or smsw are executed from user-mode context
(CPL > 0). If the fault was caused by any of the instructions protected
by UMIP, fixup_umip_exception will emulate dummy results for these
instructions. If emulation is successful, the result is passed to the
user space program and no SIGSEGV signal is emitted.

Please note that fixup_umip_exception also caters for the case when
the fault originated while running in virtual-8086 mode.

Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@xxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@xxxxxxx>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@xxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Chen Yucong <slaoub@xxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@xxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Huang Rui <ray.huang@xxxxxxx>
Cc: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@xxxxxxx>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@xxxxxxx>
Cc: Michael S. Tsirkin <mst@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Ravi V. Shankar <ravi.v.shankar@xxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Shuah Khan <shuah@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@xxxxxxx>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@xxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Liang Z. Li <liang.z.li@xxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Alexandre Julliard <julliard@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Stas Sergeev <stsp@xxxxxxx>
Cc: x86@xxxxxxxxxx
Cc: linux-msdos@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
arch/x86/kernel/traps.c | 4 ++++
1 file changed, 4 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/traps.c b/arch/x86/kernel/traps.c
index 948443e..39614ef 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/traps.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/traps.c
@@ -65,6 +65,7 @@
#include <asm/trace/mpx.h>
#include <asm/mpx.h>
#include <asm/vm86.h>
+#include <asm/umip.h>

#ifdef CONFIG_X86_64
#include <asm/x86_init.h>
@@ -492,6 +493,9 @@ do_general_protection(struct pt_regs *regs, long error_code)
RCU_LOCKDEP_WARN(!rcu_is_watching(), "entry code didn't wake RCU");

+ if (user_mode(regs) && (fixup_umip_exception(regs) == true))
+ return;
if (v8086_mode(regs)) {
handle_vm86_fault((struct kernel_vm86_regs *) regs, error_code);