LSF/MM 2016: Call for Proposals

From: Martin K. Petersen
Date: Tue Jan 12 2016 - 11:06:12 EST

The annual Linux Storage, Filesystem and Memory Management Summit for
2016 will be held on April 18th and 19th at the Raleigh Marriott City
center, Raleigh, NC.

Like last year, LSF/MM will be colocated with the Linux Foundation Vault
conference which takes place on April 20th and 21st in the same
venue. For those that do not know, Vault is designed to be an event
where open source storage and filesystem practitioners meet storage
implementors and, as such, it would be of benefit for LSF/MM attendees
to attend.

On behalf of the committee I am issuing a call for agenda proposals that
are suitable for cross-track discussion as well as technical subjects
for the breakout sessions.

1) Proposals for agenda topics should be sent before February 29th, 2016


and cc the Linux list or lists that are relevant for the topic in

ATA: linux-ide@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Block: linux-block@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
FS: linux-fsdevel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
MM: linux-mm@xxxxxxxxx
SCSI: linux-scsi@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

If advance notice is required for visa applications then please send
proposals before February 11th. The committee will complete the first
round of selections near that date to accommodate applications.

Please tag your proposal with [LSF/MM TOPIC] to make it easier to
track. In addition, please make sure to start a new thread for each
topic rather than following up to an existing one.

Agenda topics and attendees will be selected by the program committee,
but the final agenda will be formed by consensus of the attendees at the

We will try to cap attendance at around 25-30 per track to facilitate
discussions, although the final numbers will depend on the room sizes at
the venue.

2) Requests to attend the summit should be sent to:


Please summarise what expertise you will bring to the meeting, and what
you would like to discuss. Please also tag your email with [LSF/MM
ATTEND] so there is less chance of it getting lost.

Presentations are allowed to guide discussion, but are strongly
discouraged. There will be no recording or audio bridge. However, we
expect that written minutes will be published as we did in previous




3) If you have feedback on last year's meeting that we can use to
improve this year's, please also send that to:


Thank you on behalf of the program committee:

Jens Axboe (track chair)
James Bottomley
Christoph Hellwig
Martin K. Petersen (program chair)

Josef Bacik
Jan Kara
Jeff Layton (track chair)
Anna Schumaker
Theodore Ts'o
Ric Wheeler

Mel Gorman
Johannes Weiner
Rik van Riel (track chair)

Martin K. Petersen Oracle Linux Engineering